Governing Body

In terms of governance, all EFN Members are entitled to be Members of the Foundation, and will be managing its strategy, function, and objectives (different from the EFN ones).

The ENRF governance body is currently constituted by a Board of Directors (actually composed by four representatives elected from the EFN Members. This number will increase to eight once external partners join this exciting journey) & the ENRF Secretary General (also EFN Secretary General).

The Board is responsible for defining the policies and priorities of the Foundation in accordance with its mission, vision and constitutional aims, included in the ENRF strategic plan that includes a set of values, content and theme for the Foundation to work on. The Board will systematically establish a theme to focus on, including suggesting potential professional partners to build alliances with, in order to prepare a response to calls under Horizon 2020 in the upcoming years.

In December 2017, in accordance with the Foundation new revised Constitution and Internal Regulation, the EFN Members elected a new Board, constituted of 4 members, for a 2-year mandate (2017-2019):

Board of Directors:

Founding ENRF Director

Karen Bjoro
Norwegian Nurses Organisation


ENRF Directors

Olga Riklikiene
Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, Faculty of Nursing – Lithuania


Dorota Kilanska
Medical University of Lodz – Poland


Kate Seers
Warwick Research in Nursing – University of Warwick – UK


ENRF Secretary General:

Paul De Raeve
ENRF Secretary General